MMFF 2016 Official Entries List Minus Vic Sotto and Vice Ganda Proves Change is Now Showing

The list of the official entries for the upcoming Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) 2016 has been released this Friday, November 18. But this time, Filipino moviegoers will be missing Vic Sotto, Vice Ganda and other superstars who usually battle for the box-office. Instead, the so-called Magic 8 movies this year offer better and more sensible stories.

Last June, there was a huge revamp in the MMFF committee as President Rodrigo Duterte took oath. Using his famous slogan ‘Change is Coming,’ there were also significant changes in the criteria in the selection for the official entries for MMFF 2016. Interestingly, one of them is the removal of the 50% commercial or box-office viability.

This year, the criteria are: story, audience appeal, overall impact (40 percent); cinematic attributes and technical excellence (40 percent); global appeal (10 percent); and Filipino sensibility (10 percent). Having said that, gone are the days where many MMFF movies were only made to make money, and not necessarily to provide higher quality movies.

Must Read: * How Mocha Uson as MMFF Ambassadress Can Help the Rebirth of the Long Dying Movie Industry


Credit: MMMF Official Twitter

The official entries for the MMFF 2016 are:

Full-length Movies:

1. “Die Beautiful” directed by Jun Robles Lana; starring Paolo Ballesteros

2. “Kabisera” directed by Arturo San Agustin and Real Florido; starring Nora Aunor, Ricky Davao, JC De Vera, Jason Abalos, Victor Neri and Rj Agustin

3. “Saving Sally” directed by Avid Liongoren; starring Rhian Ramos and Enzo Marcos

4. “Seklusyon” directed by Erik Matti; starring Rhed Bustamante, Phoebe Walker, Elora Espano, Neil Ryan Sese, Ronnie Alonte, Lou Veloso, Dominique Roque, John Vic De Guzman and JR Versales

5. “Sunday Beauty Queen” directed by Baby Ruth Villarama; starring Hazel Perdid, Maylyn Jacobo, Cherry Bretania and Leo Selomenio

6. “Vince & Kath & James” directed by Ted Boborol; starring Julia Barretto, Joshua Garcia and Ronnie Alonte

7. “Ang Babae sa Septic Tank 2: Forever is Not Enough” directed by Marlon Rivera; starring Eugene Domingo and Chris Martinez

8. “Oro” directed by Alvin Yapan; starring Joem Bascon

Must Read: * How MMFF 2015 Winners Results Continue to Insult Filipino Movie Goers

Short films:

1. “Birds” by Christian Paulo Lat
2.“EJK” by Bor Ocampo
3. “Manila Screen” by Roque Lee & Blair Camilo
4. “Mga Bitoon sa Siyudad” by Jarell Serencio
5. “Mitatang” by Argin Jezer Gagui
6. “Momo” by Avid Liongoren
7. “Passage of Life” by Renz Vincemark Cruz & Hannah
8. “Sitsiritsit” by Brian Spencer Reyes

As usual, these MMFF 2016 movies will be shown in theaters on December 25 (Christmas Day), and will run until January 7. The annual MMFF parade will be held on December 23, and the awards night will be held on January 8. Meanwhile, both Vic Sotto and Vice Ganda are obviously disappointed. And yes, change is now showing, also in the movies.



No Responses