Gloria Arroyo Thanks President Duterte, SC for ‘Allowing Due Process’ on Dismissed Plunder Case

Gloria Arroyo thanks Duterte

Former president and now Pampanga 2nd District Representative Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo this Tuesday, July 19 thanked President Rodrigo Duterte, as well as the Supreme Court for “allowing due process.” This is after the high court dismissed the plunder case filed against her over her alleged misuse of the P366-million intelligence funds from Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office (PCSO) during her administration.

“First and foremost, to God Almighty be all the glory and praise. Through His kindness and mercy, justice and righteousness have once again prevailed over injustice and wrongdoing,” Gloria Arroyo said in a statement, shortly after the verdict of Supreme Court was released, who is still at Veterans Memorial Medical Center (VMMC) in Quezon City.

“With the High Tribunal rendering a final decision on this unfortunate episode, I sincerely hope that everyone will respect and recognize the truth that has been established,” The 69-year old former president added, referring to the 11-4 vote of the Supreme Court in favor of the dismissal of her plunder case and her immediate release from hospital arrest.

Must Watch: * Sen Leila de Lima on SC Ruliing on Gloria Arroyo, “Why Wait for Change of Administration?” (Video)

“It is my fervent hope that nobody else will suffer the persecution that had been levied on me through self-serving interpretation and implementation of the law. And that the disregard of truth for which I was made to suffer be dealt with accordingly at the soonest possible time,” Mrs. Arroyo said further, who was arrested again in October 2012.

“I also extend my heartfelt appreciation to His Excellency, President Rodrigo Duterte, and to the honorable members of the Supreme Court,” Rep. Gloria Arroyo noted, with the former Davao City mayor saying last February, “If I am elected President, I will release her. Why? Because the evidence [against her] is weak. I know that. I am a lawyer.”

Meanwhile, those who voted in favor of Gloria Arroyo are: Justice Diosdado Peralta, Justice Mariano del Castillo, Justice Presbitero Velasco Jr, Justice Teresita de Castro, Justice Arturo Brion, Justice Lucas Bersamin, Justice Jose Mendoza, Justice Jose Perez, Justice Bienvenido Reyes, Justice Francis Jardeleza, and Justice Estela Perlas-Bernabe.

Of the 11 SC judges, 8 of them were Arroyo appointees while there of them were appointed by former President Benigno Aquino III. On the other hand, Chief Justice Maria Lourdes Sereno, Senior Associate Justice Antonio Carpio, and Associate Justices Benjamin Caguioa and Marvic Leonen were the justices who voted against her release.